United celebrates 2016 season Heuston, Gledhill crowned best

October 11, 2016

Seniors most determined player Daniel Cavallaro, best and fairest Duane Hueston, most consistent player Rowan Priest.

Echuca United C grade team.

A grade player's player award Tilly Keenan.

Club person of the year Lisa Drysdale.

Reserve runner-up best and fairest James Deighton, best and fairest Will Jeffreson.

B grade player's player award Lisa Davidson.

B grade best and fairest Krystal Byrnes, runner-up Elly Lowndes.

C grade coaches award Riley Shannon.

C grade best and fairest Sarah Ogden, runner-up Danisha Wheeler.

C reserve coach award Nic Garrow.

C reserve runner-up best and fairest Addie Hamilton and best and fairest Brilee Gledhill.

Plenty of people frocked up for the Echuca United Football Netball Club presentation and senior vote count held at the Echuca Workers and Services Club on Friday, September 23.

The major vote count saw former premiership player Duane Hueston take out the club’s senior best and fairest award on 106 votes with Liam Main runner-up on 97.

Rowan Priest was awarded most consistent and the goal scoring, with Daniel Cavallaro awarded most determined.

In the reserves Will Jeffreson received the honour on 88 votes, followed by James Deighton (runner-up best and fairest), Steve Frampton (best first year), Nick Simpson (most consistent), Josh Roberts (most valuable player) and Daniel Cemino (coach’s award).

In the netball A grade club best and fairest was awarded to one of the youngest of the group with defender Amy Gledhill beating out player of the grand final Lisa Drysdale by two votes on 43, with the players player award going to Tilly Keenan.

It was a night for defenders with B grade’s Krystal Byrnes winning the award on 40 with runner-up Elly Lowndes on 34.

Players player went to Lisa Davidson.

C grade was taken out by Murray Netball League best and fairest Sarah Ogden on a club record of 65 votes and Danisha Wheeler came runner-up on 26, with the coach’s award going to Riley Shannon.

C reserve club best and fairest was awarded to Brilee Gledhill on 34 votes, even after missing a number of games throughout the season, with runner-up Addie Hamilton on 31 and Nic Garrow received the coach’s award.

It has been a successful season for Echuca United winning the Murray League’s club of the year and the A grade team winning back-to-back premierships.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text