Nagorcka wins through to regional singles final

October 21, 2016

State singles finalist Trevor Nagorcka (left) with Kevin Brennan the winner.

Campaspe Valley

THE final of the state over 60 singles was played at Rich River in favourable conditions on Friday.

It was played between Trevor Nagorcka of Rich River and Kevin Brennan of Moama.

Trevor started very well and went to an early lead, Kevin then found his range and took control.

Trevor fought back and lead 19-17, before Kevin drew four shots to win the title.

He will play in the regional final later this month in Bendigo.

CVBD men’s state pairs was played in windy conditions on Sunday at Rich River for the sectional play of the state pairs.

Section winners were K. Connolly and D. Vallance, B. Tinning and B. Tinning, J. Hogan and B. Reiner, G. Lyon and S. Lyon, G. Tinning and P. Tinning. N. Varcoe and W. Stephenson, G. O’Brien and K. Brennan.

The finals will be played at Rich River next Sunday, roll up 9.15am.

60 and over

Wednesday, October 12 results

LOCKINGTON Bowls Club hosted the 60 and over event on Wednesday with 112 bowlers and 28 teams.

There were four game winners across the random draw held due to weather.

All played on very good greens.

Jimmy Stapleton the senior bowler at 103 years old was part of Rich River’s winning team along with Max Kerr (s), J. Exton and H. Cosway.

Lockington’s team of Jim Harris (s), Roly Head, Norm Bacon and Kal Stout were runners-up.

Moama Bowling Club host next week starting from 1pm.

Rich River indoor bowls

Wednesday, October 12 results

Winners were Ron Hooper (s), Topsy Haw, Maurie Orchard and Hazel O’Dwyer over runners-up Jenny Hicks (s), Alan Haw, Mary Rouw and Colin Hicks.

Friday, October 14 results

Winners were Roy Prigg (s), Phyllis Allez, Janette Robertson and Joan Parker over runners-up Ray Sullivan (s), Hazel O’Dwyer and Val Gaylor.

City of Echuca

TUESDAY was women’s social bowls with winners Marg Shearer, Jill Blake and Linda Ormando.

In the men’s pairs on Thursday, George Thornley and Tony Hawley were best followed by Ivan Hicks and Geoff Halden runners-up.

Vouchers went to Cyril Napier, John Elliott, Daryl Phyland, Gary Hunter and Eddie Blampied.

Phil Bell took our the harvest award.

Club members are reminded to check the club notice board for bowls and social events coming up during October and November.

Moama indoor bowls

TWENTY-TWO players played three games of 10 ends.

The winners on 38 points were Denise Lee (s), Colin Hicks and Paula Barkham.

Runners-up with 34 points were Peter Pavone (s), Isobel Wallis and Joan Heales.

Consolation prizes went to Pamela Reyment, Bev Williamson, Shirley Bridgewater and Janette Robertson.

Goulburn Valley Veteran Golfers Association

EIGHTY-SEVEN veteran golfers competed in the second stroke round of the championships matches at Hill Top on Monday.

The course staff is to be congratulated on presenting the course in such excellent condition, considering the recent heavy rains that forced cancellation earlier.

A grade winner was Peter Myers (Parkland) with a nett score of 68 on countback from Neville Smith (Numurkah), also on nett 68.

B grade was won by Frank Hill (Hill Top) with an outstanding score of 63 from Max Ryder (Nathalia) on 67.

C grade winner on countback was Doug Barber (Rich River) with a nett score of 68.

Runner-up was Ian Whatley (Rich River) also on nett 68.

NTPs: Len Adams (A grade), Bob Oliver (B grade) and Peter Giorchino (C grade).

Down the line golf ball: Greg Freer, Graham Peat, Alan Dalton, John Keller, John Fanning, Neil Hutchins, Len Adams, Martin Schofield, Kevin Milner, Tom Haigh, Graham Scott, John Meincke, Bob Wildes, John Bauerle, Peter O’Halloran, Graeme North, Ian Hannaford, Bob Oliver, Wayne Ferguson, David Shiells, John Bunn, Les Hall, Ken Walter, Rex Howell, Jim Miller, John Thompson, Fred McMahon, Allan McGrath and John King.

Our next event is the third round of the championships at Mooroopna on Monday, November 7.

Assemble 9.30am for a 10am shotgun start.

Moama outdoor bowls

Tuesday, October 11 results

Alby Matthews triples: winners: John Shaw, Doug Mitchell, Greg Pettigrove. Runners-up: Neil Munro, Bernie O’Connell, Les Saunderson. Consolation: Ron Jones, Gordon Johnson and John Lorenz, Graeme Iredell, Barry Brennan.

Womens social: winners: Cheryl Doherty, Cheryl Pell, Lyn Docherty, Patti Cook. Runners-up: Maureen Hutchence, Lois Barbary, Carolyn Butcher, Lyn Rogan.

Thursday, October 13 results

Men’s nominated pairs: winners: Bill Curnow and Bob Bartlett. Runners-up: Ian McGregor and Les Saunderson. Consolation: Glenn Dorward and Barry Brennan, John Shaw and Allan Buzza.

Womens scroungers: winner: Susan Abraham, Lyn Rogan. Ditch to ditch: Ev Milgate and Bev Trengove.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text