Golf notes

December 02, 2016

The Rich River lady golfers got into the Christmas cheer for Breakfast With Santa ahead of this week's Ambrose event. PHOTO SUBMITTED

Santa Claus - a.k.a Liz Easther - with elfish assistant Barb Sands at the Rich River ladies' golf brekfast this week. PHOTO SUBMITTED

Rich River men

THE rain played havoc with the field on Tuesday, November 22, but there were still some good scores with Mark Lynch the standout.

It was a stableford event and 39 points won a voucher on the east course. There were 61 in the field.

A grade: Mark Lynch (48 points) 1, Geoff Spencer (41) 2, Ray Carr (40). NTP’s: eighth, Ivan Kirkby, Ross North and Tom Chadwick. 16th, Wayne Campbell, David Whytcross and Keith Bremner. Eagle, Ivan Kirkby.

It was a close result on Thursday, November 24, in the four ball best ball stableford event with Jeff Carnie and Ian Scurrah surviving a countback from Noel Bailey and Jim Wagstaff.

There were 180 on the east course and 45 stableford points won a voucher.

A grade: Jeff Carnie and Ian Scurrah (49 points) 1, Noel Bailey and Jim Wagstaff (49) 2, Rob Merlo and Geoff Kelly (48) 3. NTPs: third, Steve Tonkin, David Whytcross and Des Pentreath. Eighth, Steve Edwards, Brett Morton and Des Pentreath. 13th, John Stratton, Frank Severino and Lindsay Brown. 16th, Graham Mose, Ray Burgman and Kevin Crack.

Geoff Stephenson became the last qualifier for the 2017 medal of medallist event to be held next month when he took out the November monthly medal on Saturday.

The best nett score from the monthly medal winners from this year and December last year will play off for the title. Kirk Ardley continued his impressive form when he had the best score of the day in A grade, with Austin Baker and Ken Aitken also having fine scores.

Peter Hayes and Geoff Kelly won their respective grades narrowly missing the monthly medal.

It was great to see Jack Keogh of C grade take home the $156 superpin prize on the 16th.

There were 179 golfers on the east course and nett 73 won a voucher.

A grade: Peter Hayes (Nett 68) 1, Bill Bowles (69) 2, Kirk Ardley - scratch (73). B grade: Geoff Stephenson monthly medal (68) 1, David Edwards (69) 2, Austin Baker - scratch (84). C grade: Geoff Kelly (68) 1, Tony Ciavarella (70) 2, Ken Aitken - scratch (89). NTP’s: third, Peter Quanchi, Len Adams and Neil Dyson. Eighth, Peter Whitbourn, Adrian Sampson and Neil Dyson. 13th, Bill Bayles, Will O’Sullivan and Scott Worsnop. 16th, Steve Levy, Wayne Douglas and Jack Keogh (superpin $156).

Rich River women

On Saturday 30 ladies contested a stroke round on the east course.

The winner was Joy Adams with 70 nett, Carol Eddy with 72 was runner-up and Maxine Aitken third (73).

Nearest the pin on the 16th east was Colleen Lynch and the super pin was won by Belinda Griffiths.

Christine Ross won division one in Monday’s nine-hole stableford competition with a great score of 23 points. Second was Georgiana Azzopardi on 18.

Division two was won by Ann McPherson with 22 points, Leonie Dunne second with 17.

Helen Makin won nearest the pin on the eighth west and Ann McPherson the second shot.

Wednesday saw 123 ladies dress up to celebrate our Christmas event and most arrived early to enjoy breakfast under the sails before attempting four person ambrose.

The winning team was Terry Jo Ponsford, Noeline King, Di Phillips and Jennifer French, scoring a net 60.25.

Second went to Chris Fleming, Sue Jasch, Jenny Boek and Susan Hutton (61.5) and third were Nola Bennett, Joy Adams, Gabi Christians and Lorraine Brough (61.75).

Nearest the pin winners on the fourth west were Bev Clark, Ellen Banko and Shirley Phelan.

The three super pins were won by Josie Kirkman, Winnie Lavery and Leonie Dunne on the 13th hole.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text