WE Stokes scratch winners Jan McGuinness and David Pearson

August 05, 2017

WE Stokes scratch winners Jan McGuinness and David Pearson

WE Stokes net winners Simon and Jenny Putna

GV Veterans

SIXTY-FIVE golfers made the trek to Deniliquin Golf Club on Monday where they again enjoyed the winter sunshine on a 17 degree day.

The number of veterans from this part of the district has dwindled recently but we have received excellent support from Deniliquin Golf Club and were reassured that increased efforts would be made to promote Goulburn Valley Veterans Golf amongst the community there.

Winner in A grade was Joel Watson from Rich River (42 stableford points) and runner-up was John Keller from Hill Top (40).

A count back was required to separate B grade players John Bauerle (Parkland) and Jack Hepworth (Numurkah) on 34.

C grade winner, with the highest score of the day, was Ian Clarke of Kialla (43) from Graham Huntington of Deniliquin (41).

Nearest-the-pin contested on the ninth green went to John McHale, Valley View (A grade) Jack Hepworth, Numurkah (B grade) and Peter Giorchino, Mooroopna (C grade).

Golf ball winners: Gary Bow, Graham Peat, Bob Kilgour, Ron Smith, Martin Schofield, Robert Oliver, Gavon Armstrong, Rolf Weber, Lindsay Simms, Alan Hausler,Bill Holyman, Gary Hopcraft, Roy Parrott, Doug Bray, Geoff Squires, Tom McConachie, Des Ramsie, Rowdy Yates.

Our association is still seeking nominations from members to represent GV vets at the state teams event at Nhill Golf Club on September 18-19.

The club would like to send two teams of three players and the GVVGA will fund the entry fee and contribute to travel expenses.

If interested phone Max Dawber.

The next event will be stableford at Nagambie, on August 21.

Rich River men’s

A VISITOR from Axedale, Kevin Crawford, had one of the rounds of the year to claim the stableford event on Tuesday, July 25.

Chris Jennings also had a great round to be runner-up.

Gary Butler won the B grade event with Alan Johnson in hot pursuit, but all these great scores were upstaged by nearest the pin regular Steve Presser who won all four A grade nearest the pins which no-one can recall ever happening before.

Ivan Kirkby also had a highlight when he holed his second shot for eagle on the par four 10th.

There were 134 in the field on the east course and 39 points won a voucher.

A grade: Kevin Crawford (46 Points), 1. Chris Jennings (43), 2. Steve Presser (41), 3. B grade: Gary Butler (42 Points), 1. Alan Johnson (41), 2. David Cockroft (40), 3. NTP’s: Third, Steve Presser, Wally Portwine and Geoff Kelly. Eighth, Steve Presser, Trevor Thornhill and Graeme Birch. 13th, Steve Presser, Neil Edwards and Terry Cargill. 16th, Steve Presser, Dean Bruns and Alan Peach. Eagle 10th, Ivan Kirkby.

There were close results in all grades with Gary Bennett, Ray Carr and John Adams winning each of the three events on Thursday, July 27.

Glenn Rogers went on a four hole birdie run on the back nine from 13 to 16 to win a voucher and Graham Peat won the first Tuesday Super-Pin on the fourth.

There were 160 on the west course with net 35 points winning a voucher.

A grade: Gary Bennett (39 Points), 1. Rodney Woodman (37), 2. Baden Thorsen (36). B grade: Ray Carr (39 Points), 1. Trevor Hay (38), 2. David Edwards (37). C grade: John Adams (38 Points), 1. Ian Roy (37), 2. Wayne Young (36). NTP’s: Fourth, Graham Peat, Michael Butler and Wayne Young. Eighth, Stan Davis, Mike Mangiameli and Barry McPherson. 13th, Glenn Rogers, Dale Chiswell and Bruce Walkeden. Super Pin, Graham Peat $123.

Kirk Ardley won the ‘Norm Smith’ for the best score on grand final day of the Premier League on Saturday for the winning Reluctant Heroes team, when he parred the course to win the A grade event.

Mixed Bag were the form team of the latter part of the year and finals but Steve Jones’ team made up for last year’s runner-up finish when they won the final by four points.

Chad Jones and Pottsy Webber had the best scores of the day to win B and C grade respectively and youngster Jackson Gentle won the super-pin on the fourth.

There were 157 in the field on the west course with 35 points winning a voucher.

A grade: Kirk Ardley (37 Points), 1. Glenn Rogers (36), 2. Gavin Radley (36). B grade: Chad Jones (39 Points), 1. Chris Jennings (38), 2. Darren Burr (37). C grade: Peter Webber (39 Points), 1. Terry Jeoffreys (37), 2. Peter Boek (37). NTP’s: Fourth, Jackson Gentle, Peter Sargentson and Ted Retallick. Eighth, Cooper Gentle, Geoff Burke and Alan Curtis. 13th, Adam Nolan, Steve McCoomb and David Long. Eagle 16th, Kirk Ardley. Super-pin, Jackson Gentle $131.

Simon and Jenny Putna won the WE Stokes mixed foursomes for the second year in a row, surviving a three-way countback after 36 holes.

Last year’s scratch winners Mick and Karen Mahady were runners-up with Joel Watson and Chris Kelly in third place.

Jan McGuinness and David Pearson were the scratch winners.

Net: 1, Simon and Jenny Putna 153. 2, Karen and Mick Mahady 153. 3, Joel Watson and Chris Kelly 153.

Scratch: 1, Jan McGuiness and David Pearson 174. 2, Mick Mahady and Karen Mahady 180.

Rich River women’s

A stroke round determining a scratch winner and handicapped placegetters was played on Wednesday on the west course.

Division 1: Liz Easter was the scratch winner with 86 off the stick; 2, Marcia Spiers (69); 3, Josie Kirkman (71).

Division 2: 1, Lorraine De Ravin (96); 2, President Sue Jasch (73); 3, Joyce Moresi on a countback (73).

Division 3: 1, Doss Dinsdale (106); 2, Lyn McGrath (74); 3, Georgiana Azzopardi (76).

The ball run down went to 76 net.

Nola Bennett won the final round of the silver spoon and will play off at Kew Golf Club in November.

Marcia Spiers’ lovely round won her the monthly medal.

Nearest the pins were won on the fourth hole by Marg Young (A grade) and Marg Davison (B grade).

Eileen Pineo was very close on the eighth hole to win the second shot.

The super pin was claimed by Judi Lawler on the 13th.

Bennett’s Intersport was today’s sponsor.

A nine hole stroke round was also played today with Rita Freestone winning with a 38 net, Theresa Jacobs was runner up (39).

A par round was played on the west course on Saturday and gusty wind proved a challenge for the 29 women participating and this was reflected in the scores.

Heather Gunstone was the winner with square, runner-up on a countback was Marion Brotchie, followed by Judy White third (-1).

Nearest the pins on the eighth west were won by Josie Kirkman and Doss Dinsdale.

Felicity Douglas scored the Super pin on the 13th hole.

Conditions were perfect on the west course on Monday when 24 women played a round of Stableford in the welcome sunshine.

Division 1: Heather Gunstone was the winner with 17 points, Bernie Smith was in second place (16).

Division 2: Suzan Hutton continued her winning streak with the score of the day (19), runner-up was Fran Murphy (17).

The ball rundown went to 16 points and the second shot was won by Carolyn Smith.

YMCA back nine

LAST week saw a stroke round sponsored by Echuca Hotel played at the YMCA back nine social club.

The men’s winner on 35 points was Jack Hewitt with Dennis Jackman runner-up.

Hewitt was also had the straightest drive (A grade) along with John McDonald (B grade) and Tony Maynard (over 70).

Brian Mudd was nearest the pin on the sixth.

In the women’s Winnie Lavery was the winner and Josie Kirkman was runner-up and the straightest drive.

Nearest the pins went to Lavery (fourth) and Kirkman (sixth).

Next round will be stroke on Friday, August 11.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text