EDNA salutes season

September 12, 2017

Mark Fitzsimmons, coach of the year award winner

Section four best and fairest Sophie Ryan

Christine Ahern memorial award overall best and fairest winner Kasey Conder

Section three best in finals Titan's Lizzie Halloran

(From left) Rose Buckley, 40 year long service award winner Heather Bradley and Betty McCoomb

Hannah Weier primary junior coach's award winner and most improved under 18 umpire

ECHUCA and District Netball Association hosted its grand final and association presentations on Saturday, August 26.

A large crowd gathered to watch the finals and stayed around to watch the presentations of the primary and senior awards.

In the primary Navy section, the Giants were victors over the Vixens 39-11 with Maia Roberts named best and fairest for the season along with the best player in the final.

Billie Logie was recognised with the primary junior coaching encouragement award and Hannah Weier was given the coach’s award.

In primary senior, Lisa Francis won the coaching encouragement award and Andrea Ham took out the coach’s award.

The primary encouragement umpires’ award went to Yalti Jones with Madison Barnes receiving primary most improved umpires award.

In the afternoon grand finals, section four saw Kestrels secure a one-goal win over GT Girls 11-10.

Best in final was Tahlia O’Neil and the best and fairest went to Sophie Ryan from Rockettes.

In section three, Titans overcame Rochy Renegades 27-25.

Best in final was Titans’ Lizzie Halloran and Rochy Renegades player Jeje Mirasol was best and fairest.

Section two saw Rascals defeat Mini Chickybabes 37-27 with Asha Gray awarded both the best player in the final and best and fairest.

In section one, Missiles defeated Chickybabes 34-26 with Chickybabes’ Kasey Conder taking home the best in final and best and fairest for the season.

EDNA’s annual association awards were presented before the medal presentations to the teams.

The afternoon highlight was the awarding of a 40-year long service award to Heather Bradley whom has been a coach, official, player and managed the canteen for many years.

Other award winners were best club person, Sheree D’Angri; coach of the year, Mark Fitzsimmons; young achiever award, Kasey Conder; and Riverine Herald rising star award, Lara Judd.

Saturday afternoon’s most improved under 18 umpire went to Hannah Weier with Sarah Porter receiving the junior encouragement umpire’s award.

The Joan Buzza memorial award for the most outstanding umpire went to Tiah D’Angri and the Christine Ahern memorial award for overall best and fairest went to Kasey Conder for scoring the most votes of any player in the season.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text