Women build on history

November 30, 2017

CUMMERAGUNJA has continued its incredible sporting legacy.

CUMMERAGUNJA has continued its incredible sporting legacy.

Last weekend, a side made up of young Indigenous women from around the region took to Richmond’s Punt Road oval to take part in the Koorie Women’s Carnival.

The carnival saw more than 200 Indigenous women from across the state take part.

The eight sides were divided into two pools, with the top two sides in each pool advancing to the final.

Cummeragunja started their pool B campaign with a 52-7 victory over the Koorie Kurburus.

The round two game saw the side again put together a dominant performance, with a 36-0 win over Bunurong.

In the final game of the pool stage, the side fought out a hard contest, claiming a 7-1 victory over Rumbalara, ending the group stages in top spot with an undefeated tournament, advancing to the semi-finals and coming up against the Fitzroy Stars.

While the team had put on a strong performance throughout the match, unfortunately they fell to Fitzroy and did not advance.

The result aside, it was a fantastic effort for the side, with Analeise Hamilton collecting the squad’s best player medal.

Cummeragunja has an incredible history.

The name comes from an Indigenous station in NSW, famous for 200 residents standing up to their poor treatment and walking off the station in breach of the NSW Aboriginal Protection board.

Through these actions, the residents hold their place in Australian history for fighting for the fair treatment they so richly deserved.

Cummeragunja’s football origins trace back nearly 120 years.

But its story goes far deeper than just football.

As a sporting club, Cummeragunja first tasted success by winning the Dobinson Trophy, Echuca’s top district cricket trophy, in 1890 and within 10 years were also an incredibly successful football team.

The station was the birthplace of Sir Douglas Nicholls, a former Fitzroy and Northcote footballer and the first Indigenous Australian to hold the office of governor when he was elected Governor of South Australia in 1976.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text